Baseball Draws 12th Seed Will Travel to Perry on May 12

The Louisville Leopards drew the 12th Seed at the DI Canton District Baseball Tournament Draw Sunday. They will travel to Perry to face the Panthers on Monday, May 12 in the Sectional Semifinals.

Louisville was 6-10 coming into the draw and Perry was 7-9. All six of the Leopards victories were against NBC opponents that included sweeps of Alliance, Minerva, and Salem. The Panthers are 3-2 in the Federal Beatty's Sports Spring 2014 Baseball Shirt 2League so far this year with a victory over Lake, a split with GlenOak, and a split with North Canton Hoover. They have also picked up out of conference wins against Berlin Hiland, Boardman, Mansfield Madison, and Stow.

Louisville and Perry have shared two common opponents this season in Berlin Hiland and GlenOak. Louisville lost at Hiland 3-2 on April 2 and Perry split a double header with the Hawks losing 6-2 in game one before winning 6-2 in game two. The Leopards fell at GlenOak 13-3 on April 21 and Perry split the season series with the Golden Eagles with an 11-3 win and a 14-7 loss.

The winner of this game will travel to top-seeded Jackson on Tuesday, May 13 at 4:30 PM. The Leopards fell to the Polar Bears 9-5 Saturday. The Panthers are currently scheduled to play Jackson the same week as Sectionals in Federal League play.

Our records indicate that this is the first meeting between Louisville and Perry since 1989. The Leopards won that meeting 4-3. We have no records indicating that these two schools have ever met in the postseason for baseball (these date back to 1972).

Louisville is 25-23 since 1972 (with the exception of missing records from 1985) and also 6-6 on the road in the same time frame. They fell on the road against Triway 3-1 in the DII Sectional Finals last season. This is the first year the Leopards have been in Division I since 1990 when they were in Division AAA.

DI Canton Bracket

DI Canton Baseball District Tournament Bracket 2014

Click Bracket to Enlarge.



Monday, May 12

#12 Louisville at #8 Perry, 4:30

#9 Green at #7 GlenOak, 4:30

#11 Canton McKinley at #6 Barberton, 4:30

#13 Canton Timken at #4 North Canton Hoover, 4:30

#10 New Philadelphia at #5 Massillon Washington, 4:30


Tuesday, May 13

#12 Louisville at #8 Perry Winner at #1 Jackson, 4:30

#9 Green at #7 GlenOak Winner at #3 Wooster, 4:30

#11 Canton McKinley at #6 Barberton Winner at #2 Lake, 4:30

#10 New Philadelphia at #5 Massillon Washington Winner at #13 Canton Timken at #4 North Canton Hoover Winner

DISTRICT SEMIFINALS (at Thurman Munson Memorial Stadium)

Monday, May 19

District Semifinal #1, 2:00

District Semifinal #2, 5:00

DISTRICT FINALS (at Thurman Munson Memorial Stadium)

Tuesday, May 20

District Championship, 4:30

Seed Order

1. Jackson (14-4)

2. Lake (9-3)

3. Wooster (13-6)

4. North Canton Hoover (11-7)

5. Massillon Washington (13-9)

6. Barberton (9-3)

7. GlenOak (7-6)

8. Perry (7-9)

9. Green (8-11)

10. New Philadelphia (9-8)

11. Canton McKinley (7-12)

12. Louisville (6-10)

13. Canton Timken (0-18)

You may also like...