Top Memory #5 Boys & Girls Golf Both NBC Champions after Tournament

Louisville Leopards Boys Golf NBC Tournament Champions 2014

#5 Boys & Girls Golf Both NBC Champions after Tournament

Boys Win 1st NBC Title Since 2008

Both the Louisville Boys and Louisville Girls Golf teams finished a win behind the NBC Regular Season Champions in their respective final standings. But on September 18 the regular season was forgotten as each team outshot the regular season champion to clinch a share of the 2014 conference title. This marked the first time in school history that both Leopards Golf teams won a league title in the same season.

The Boys team was riding high after defeating Marlington in a 5th-man tie-breaker at Tannenhauf to conclude the regular season. The victory allowed the Leopards to stay in the hunt for a share of the NBC Title and they made the most of it.

Louisville tied Regular Season Champion Carrollton for the NBC Tournament Title 336-336 at Alliance Beatty's Blue Polo 2015Country Club forcing another 5th-man tie-breaker scenario. The two squads had split in the regular season with Carrollton winning their most recent meeting 155-169 on September 10 at Carroll Meadows and Louisville edging their first meeting 163-165 at Skyland Pines on September 2. This marked the only time the Warriors lost all season.

On Tournament Day, Louisville came out on top as Cameron Prasco’s score of 88 defeated Carrollton’s 5th best score by 4 strokes. Dan Duplain would shoot a team best 81 for the Leopards and other top scores included the following: Heath Williams 84, Matt Eddins 85, and Nick Fawver 86. The NBC Crown was Louisville’s first since 2008.

Full Article: Boys Golf Wins NBC Tournament On Tie Breaker 1st Crown Since 2008

Girls win 3rd NBC Title in 4 Seasons

The Lady Leopards road to a Title proved to be much different. While they still finished a game behind League Regular Season Champion Minerva, they did not win the NBC Tournament at Zoar Golf Club. However, they did enough.

Third-Place Carrollton ended up winning the NBC Tournament with a final tally of 364. But since Beatty's Property of Louisville Leopards Shirt 2015Louisville finished four strokes ahead of Regular Season Champion Minerva 368-372 for second place, the Lady Leopards forced a share of the overall title.

Medalist Sierra Townsend carried the Lady Leps to their 3rd league championship in just 4 seasons finishing with an NBC best score of 78. Townsend was dominate all season in helping Louisville post a 13-3 regular season mark and a 7-1 league record.

Other Top Leopards Scorers on tourney day included Bailey Spring 92, Summer Walters 96, and Abby Beaver/Gabby Spehar 102.

Full Article: Girls Golf Shares NBC Title After Finishing 2nd at NBC Tournament

Don’t forget to Subscribe to Our Posts for Free

Order Individual Player Highlight Video

You may also like...