Leopards Win 4th NBC Title in 5 Years, Finish Season 16-3

Featured Video Play Icon

Burwell & Thompson Finish off #1 Doubles to Clinch NBC

Louisville 4, Marlington 1

The rains came and the winds blew but the Leopards did not fall.  After waiting out a rain delay, Louisville defeated Marlington 4-1 to earn their fourth NBC Title in a five year span.  The Leopards finish the season 9-1 in the NBC and 16-3 overall, which ties them for the third most wins in school history.

After Vince Burwell served and Marlington returned, Daniel Thompson threw the hammer down to close out #1 Beatty's Sports Baseball Shirt 2012 Spring Sports LogosDoubles.  The 6-1, 6-4 win was the Leopards third victory of the night, which clinched the match and also a share of the NBC Title with Salem.

Louisville went into the rain delay down 1-0 after falling in #1 singles.  The #2 Doubles team of Michael Thomas & Ryan Shepherd came out of the delay and won almost instantaneously as they only needed a match point to game their 6-0, 6-3 win.  Jackson Frazier then earned a victory in #2 singles just before Burwell and Thompson finished their match to seal the deal.  Anthony Hoover also took care of business in #3 singles to finalize the score at 4-1 Louisville.

The Leopards are now 57-5 against the Dukes all-time in taking 10 out of the last 11 from the Dukes.

Jackson Frazier Closes Out #2 Singles

Here’s a look at the results from Wednesday’s match:


#1 Singles winner: Marlington – Alex Schaeffer (M) d. Adam Sullivan (L) 6-0, 6-0
#2 Singles winner: Louisville – Jackson Frazier (L) d. Victor Schade (M) 6-3, 6-1
#3 Singles winner: Louisville – Anthony Hoover (L) d. Brayden Quick (M) 6-1, 6-1

#1 Doubles winner: Louisville – Vince Burwell & Daniel Thompson (L) Brandon Fall & Zavier Casterlow (M) 6-1, 6-4
#2 Doubles winner: Louisville – Ryan Shepherd & Michael Thomas (L) d. Greg Margida & Matt Haynam (M) 6-0, 6-3


Records: Louisville 16-3, 9-1

You may also like...