Louisville One Step Closer to NBC Title After Whacking West Branch 44-24 – Wrestling

Carter Mickley Louisville Leopards Wrestling Vs. West Branch Warriors 2016-2017

Louisville 44, West Branch 24

The Louisville Leopards Wrestling Team took one step closer to securing their first NBC Title since 1997. Louisville earned a convincing 44-24 victory over the host West Branch Warriors Thursday Night at West Branch High School. With the victory, the Leopards improve to 8-4 on the season and remain unbeaten at a perfect 5-0 in the NBC. Louisville can clinch a share of the NBC title this Thursday when they host the Salem Quakers for Senior Night.

Louisville Leopards Sweatshirt Fall 2017- Beatty's SportsThe Leopards were on a mission heading into Beloit Thursday to take on traditional wrestling powerhouse West Branch. Louisville won their first six matches to build a 30-0 lead and never looked back.

Riley Brendle set the tone early by earning a narrow 3-2 decision in the heavyweight match. His victory was followed by back-to-back pins by Garett Lautzenheiser (106) and Ryan Jakubiak (113) and then back-to-back forfeits won by Davin Rhoads (120) and Logan Vanicek (126) to bulge the Leopard lead to 27-0.

Carter Mickley (132) claimed a 13-6 decision in the next match before the Warriors finally halted the run when Gage Bickley (138) earned a 6-2 decision. Overall Louisville would take 9 of the 14 matchups for the evening. Other winners for the Leopards included Jax Leonard (145) who won by technical fall 19-3, Brent Paulus (182) who earned a 12-7 decision, and Blake Robbins who capped off the night by pinning his opponent in the second round.

West Branch (12-5, 1-4) was led by Dylan Miller (152) and Peter Biery (160) who each won by fall. Neil Ginnetti (170) was also victorious by forfeit and Luke Woolf (195) edged out a 3-2 victory.

Donate to Leopard Nation


View & Purchase Louisville Leopards Pictures on the  Jim & Laura Photography Website

Jim and Laura Photography

Leopard Nation $5 Challenge

Varsity Results


106 — Lautzenheiser (L) pin Hicks :19. 113 — Jakubiak (L) pin Morris 1:38. 120 — Rhoads (L) forfeit win. 126 —Vanicek (L) forfeit win. 132 —Mickley (L) dec. Caserta 13-6. 138 — Bickley (WB) dec. Kennedy 6-2. 145 — Leonard (L) technical fall Wilke 19-3. 152 — Miller (WB) pin Thompson 5:06. 160 — Biery (WB) pin Spidaleri :19. 170 —Ginnetti (WB) forfeit win. 182 — Paulus (L) dec. Marra 12-7. 195 — Woolf (WB) dec. Thatcher 3-2. 220 — Robbins (L) pin Lawniczak 2:48. 285 — Brendle (L) dec. Hurst 3-2.

You may also like...